Hurling‎ > ‎

Senior Hurling

Senior Hurling News.


Fitzgibbon Cup- 1/4 final

Great start to the 2014 Fitzgibbon Cup for CIT after a win over Limerick IT in the first round. Great performance by all the team. Final score of the match CORK IT: 1-12 LIMERICK IT: 0-10


Scorers for Cork IT: John O’Dwyer 0-6 (five frees), David Drake 1-0, Jamie Coughlan 0-2, John Cronin, Conor Hammersley, Daniel Dooley, Kevin Hallissey 0-1 each.

Scorers for Limerick IT: Tony Kelly 0-4 (two frees, one 65), Jamie Shanahan 0-3 (two frees), Alan Dempsey, Seanie O’Brien, Cathal McInerney 0-1 each.

CORK IT: Stephen Nyhan, Stephen Murphy, Alan Dennehy, Tomas Lawrence, Eoin Keane, Micheál Russell, Padraig Butler, William Murphy, Michael O’Sullivan, John O’Dwyer, John Cronin, Conor Hammersley, Michael O’Brien, Daniel Dooley, David Drake. Subs: Jamie Coughlan for O’Brien (21), Kevin Hallissey for Dooley (37), Mark Ellis for W Murphy (43).

LIMERICK IT: Aaron Murphy, Alan Dempsey, Martin Minehan, Cian Nolan; Paul Flaherty, Barry O’Connell, Enda Boyce; Seanie O’Brien, Jamie Shanahan, Tony Kelly, Patrick Begley, Philip Ivors, Oisin Hickey, Cathal McInerney, Shane McGrath.

Referee: Fergal Horgan (Tipperary).


Fitzgibbon Cup- Semi-Final


It was a thrilling match against two rival colleges in this Fitzgibbon cup semi-final on the 28th of February. CIT faced the well experienced UCC for a nail biting match. 

Going in as the underdog CIT didn’t let the multiple title winners faze them. They rose to the challenge and made it a very impelling game for all. At half time the score was 1-12 to 0-07 after an epic goal by John Cronin after just 28 minutes. In the end beating them 1-17 to 0-19. Great plays by John O’ Dwyer and the rest of the squad.


CORK IT: Stephen Nyhan; Stephen Murphy, Alan Dennehy, Tomás Lawrence, Eoin Keane, Mark Ellis, Pádraig Butler, Jamie Coughlan, Michael O’Sullivan; John O’Dwyer, John Cronin, Conor Hammersley, Bill Cooper, Daniel Dooley, David Drake.

Subs: Kevin O’Connor for Dooley (46), William Murphy for O’Sullivan (51), Kevin Hallissey for Coughlan (56)

UCC: Darren McCarthy; Stephen Maher, David Glynn, Patrick O’Sullivan; James Barry, Paudie Prendergast, Cormac Murphy; Brian Murray, Alan Cadogan; Seamus Harnedy, Dan McCormack, Rob O’Shea; Willie Griffin, Conor Lehane, Jamie Barron.

Subs: Colm Spillane for Maher (37), Shane O’Donnell (Clare) for Griffin (46), Brian Lawton for McCormack (53).

Referee: Alan Kelly


Fitzgibbon Cup- Final

Facing Waterford IT, the lad went in with everything they had. It is very hard to ask any team to play two high profile matches in two days. On the day however WIT proved to be one step ahead of CIT taking the win but CIT left Belfast with their heads held up. The lads put in 2 great performances in the competition. The Final score was 0-17 to 0-12, WIT taking the win with 5 points.

CORK IT: S Nylan; S Murphy, A Dennehy, T Lawrence; E Keane, M Ellis, P Butler; W Murphy, J Coughlan; J O’Dwyer, J Cronin, C Hammersley; B Cooper, D Dooley, D Drake.

Subs: K O’Connor for Coughlan (23), K Hallissey for Drake (38), D Corbett for Murphy (45), D Brosnan for Corbett (55), S Murray for Cooper (59)

WATERFORD IT: S O’Keefe; G Teehan, P Gahan, J Maher; T Hamill, J O’Dwyer, J Langton; S Roche, C Kenny; H Kehoe, P Mahony, E Murphy; L McGrath, J Dillon, G O’Brien.

Subs: J Hayes for McGrath (46), A Kenny for O’Dwyer (51), M Power for Kenny (60)

Referee: James McGrath (Westmeath)

John Cronin must get a special mention for leading this team with distinction. 

The management team of Pat Mulcahy, Con Burns, Noel Collins, Martin O Flynn, Donal Mulcahy & Cathal Fitzgerald must be commended on the hard work they have put in throughout the year.

Donal Mannix, John Desmond & Peter O'Keeffe also made a ferocious contribution to this years team. Keith Ricken must also be praised on making sure that every detail was looked after for the lads this weekend. Each member of the backroom team can be extremely proud of their achievement on leading this side to a Fitzgibbon Cup Final, Particularly after being written off by every 'expert' in the media.

Members of The CIT Hurling Club who played in 2013/14

Stephen Nyhan Courcey RoversCork
Stephen MurphyBlackrockCork
Alan Dennehy CharlevilleCork
Tomas LawrenceBrian DillonsCork
Eoin KeaneSt FinbarrsCork
Michael RussellAghadaCork
Padraig ButlerArgideen RangerCork
William MurphyMeelinCork
Michael O SullivanTractonCork
John O DwyerKillenauleTipperary
John CroninLisgouldCork
Conor HammersleyClonoulty/RossmoreTipperary
Michael O BrienThurles Sarsfield Tipperary
Daniel DooleyBride Rovers Cork
David DrakeCarriglineCork
Gary MinihaneCourcey RoversCork
Mark EllisMillstreetCork
Darragh Brosan Brian DillonsCork
James GogginSt FinbarrsCork
Kevin TarrantBanteerCork
Kevin KavanaghCarriglineCork
David CorbettThurles Sarsfield Tipperary
Kevin O ConnorNewtownshandrumCork
Jamie Coughlan NewtownshandrumCork
Kevin HallisseyEiro OgCork
Sean O MahonyBallymartleCork
Pearse MorrisNenaghTipperary
Pat RalphMoycarkey BorrisTipperary
Sean LordanCourcey RoversCork
Stephen MurrayBurgessTipperary
Finbarr StapeltonKildorreryCork
Jason LonerganSt.Mary's ClonmelTipperary
Bill CooperYoughal Cork
Paul VirgoGlen RoversCork

Subpages (1): 2012